World Rugby Officiating : The home of Rugby officiating on the web : Match Commissioner Programme
Passport is due to transfer to a new working platform by the 18th of April 2021. As a result, please ensure you complete any partly completed modules prior to then.

We’ll start with some background information on World Rugby. If you are training to commission matches at non-World Rugby tournaments, feel free to skip this section and move on to “The Match Commissioner”. Nothing in this section will appear in the exam.

World Rugby

World Rugby was founded in 1886 as The International Rugby Board (IRB). With its headquarters in Dublin, World Rugby is the world governing and Law-making body for the Game of Rugby Union. The day to day business of the Board is conducted by a professional staff of over 50, the majority of whom are based in Dublin. Personnel employed around the world include Regional Development Managers, High Performance Managers and Regional General Managers working in Europe, Asia, Africa, The Americas and Oceania.

Rugby is played by men and women, boys and girls, in more than 100 countries across five continents. World Rugby membership currently totals 105 Unions in full membership, 16 Associate Members and six Regional Associations.

There are a number of tournaments under World Rugby control, including the Rugby World Cup, Women's Rugby World Cup, Rugby World Cup Sevens, HSBC Sevens World Series, Junior World Championship, Junior World Rugby Trophy and Nations Cup.

Kenya and Zimbabwe on their journey to Rugby World Cup 2015 in England