World Rugby Officiating : The home of Rugby officiating on the web

High Tackle


  • The referee should assess that foul play has occurred since it is not an accident.
  • It is a high tackle, since the tackler’s arm is used.
  • Head contact has occurred, from the tackler’s arm.
  • The degree of danger is low since none of the video signs for high danger are present

Initial decision:

Yellow Card


Factors against: tackler and BC in open space, tackler has clear line of sight and time before contact

Factors for: none

Factors against outweigh factors for so no mitigation and sanction not reduced by one level

Final decision:

Yellow Card