World Rugby Officiating : The home of Rugby officiating on the web

High Tackle


  • The referee should assess that foul play has occurred since it is not an accident.
  • It is a high tackle, since the tackler’s arm is used.
  • Head contact has occurred, from the tackler’s arm.
  • The degree of danger is high based on the video signs: Arm swings forward prior to contact - Rigid arm or elbow makes contact with the BC head as part of a swinging motion.

Initial decision:

Red card


Factors against: tackler has clear line of sight

Factors for: none

Factors against outweigh factors for and so no mitigation and sanction not reduced by one level

Final decision:

Red card